More Brakes

I’ve replaced both front wheel cylinders and hoses. Still need to get some bearing grease and re-grease the front wheel bearings.

I also replaced the master cylinder, which was really an “as long as I’m here” type of preventative measure. When I disconnected the line from the master cylinder to the proportioning valve and bent it away from the master cylinder, I discovered the source of my brake issues. The hard line snapped at its bracket on the firewall.

DSC_0114

So I opened the LMC, Sacramento Vintage Ford and Macs Auto Parts catalogs looking for this line. Nothing. Nobody carries it. I went to O’Reilly and they called their supplier. Nothing.

So I went to the wonderful people at http://www.ford-trucks.com/forums/forum268/ and asked them. They told me I could replace that line with a regular hard brake line, but that I should put a coil in it. I happen to have exactly the right line and fittings left over from my ‘95 Jeep. Shouldn’t be too bad.

Famous last words.

About lc

dad, husband, dog owner, computer guy, race fan, classic car fantasizer, fiscal conservative, mmmm...beer, lover of chocolate brownies with vanilla ice cream
This entry was posted in Truck and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

