Motoration

It’s pretty cool to have an original straight-six 223 with a three-on-the-tree in this truck, but the truck smokes like crazy.

I’ve been thinking lately of swapping something in, but not the usual 351 or other push-rod V8. I’m thinking an early 2000’s Ford F150 fuel-injected SOHC V6 with a 5-speed. I stopped at LKQ on my way home from San Antonio today and they’d sell me a complete package (if they happen to have a truck with that configuration at the time and it hasn’t been pulled apart yet) for about $2000. That’s more than I paid for the truck.

So maybe I’ll just rebuild the bottom-end of the 223 and see where that gets me. Never done that before. Have no idea what I’m doing. May as well get started.

About lc

dad, husband, dog owner, computer guy, race fan, classic car fantasizer, fiscal conservative, mmmm...beer, lover of chocolate brownies with vanilla ice cream
This entry was posted in Motivation. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

